Human Resources > PDAS


PDAS remains in place as the State's approved instrument for appraising it’s teachers and identifying areas that would benefit from staff development. Cornerstones of the process include a minimum of one 45-minute observation and completion of the Teacher Self-Report form. PDAS includes 51 criteria within eight domains reflecting the Proficiencies for Learner-Centered Instruction adopted in 1997 by the State Board for Education Certification (SBEC). The domains are:
1. Active, Successful Student Participation in the Learning Process
2. Learner-Centered Instruction
3. Evaluation and feedback on Student Progress
4. Management of Student Discipline, Instructional Strategies, Time/Materials
5. Professional Communication
6. Professional Development
7. Compliance with Policies, Operating Procedures and Requirements
8. Improvement of All Student's Academic Performance
Included in the appraisal system are Instructional Leadership Development (ILD) and Administrator Appraisal.
PDAS requires that new teachers and teachers new to a district receive an orientation. In addition, the PDAS Teacher Manual is to be given to ALL teachers. The PDAS calendar is available below as well as the form for requesting a second appraisal.