District names 2016 Teachers of the Year

Byrd teaches at Johnston-McQueen Elementary, while Mize teaches at Foster Middle. The pair will represent the district for the next year, and in June will be considered for Region VII Teacher of the Year.

LISD Deputy Superintendent Andrea Mayo said the district is "extremely honored to recognize those named Teacher of the Year for each campus – the first step in the 2017 Texas Teacher of the Year selection process."

"It's also significant because the selections were made by their peers," she said. "These individuals are outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues, and the communities they serve."

Campus Teachers of the Year are chosen during the latter part of each school year by their principals and professional colleagues. A panel of former honorees and district staff then selects district elementary and secondary winners based on essay submissions.

Byrd, Mize, and other campus Teachers of the Year will be honored by the district’s Board of Trustees in the fall.

2016 Teachers of the Year
Bramlette: Emily Hill
Hudson PEP: Laura Vermillion
J.L. Everhart: Kori Thompson
Johnston-McQueen: Angelina Byrd
Ned E. Williams: Sharon Collins
South Ward: Israel Vazquez
Ware: Cangelya Birdsong
Forest Park: John Derr
Foster: Lisa Mize
Judson: Mindy Holley
Longview High: Nancy Coots
Early Graduate High: Pamela Anthony
Published Print