Lobos dominate state tech competition

The LHS organization is run under the supervision and guidance of Career Technology instructor Charles Mosley, who said he was delighted with the results and looks forward to the national meet June 28 to July 2 in Nashville, Tennessee.

National Qualifiers are seniors Uwa Ihionkhan, Krisana Yuen, Trevor O'Connor, Soumya Donty; juniors Rutvi Patel, Lucy Castillo, Chris Guck, Neal Rangu, Naomi D'Arbell, Daniele Farren, Jason Randall, Daniel Bally, Aaron Brown; sophomores Levi Grant, Stephanie Guck, Justin Melendez; freshmen Ejehi Ihionkhan, Brady Miller, Payton Schaap, Samantha Taylor, Kathryn Roper, Surya Donty, Ben Taylor, Sam Pistone, and Nitin Rangu.

Longview swept the top three in Prepared Presentation events, with freshman Payton Schaap ranked first followed by teammates Ejehi Ihionkhan (2nd place), and Stephanie Guck (3rd place).

The Technology Student Association fosters personal growth, leadership, and opportunities in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.
Superintendent Dr. James Wilcox said the overall performance of the entire team was impressive, especially since so many are underclassmen.

"Our seniors doing well is no surprise, they are experienced, hard-working, and have been excelling in this competition for some time," he said. "With how well our underclassmen are doing — especially our sophomores and freshmen — it's safe to say (the TSA program) is going to continue to excel."

Individual winners include Justin Melendez who earning the silver medal in Promotional Graphics, with Naomi D'Arbell taking 4th Place.

Neal Rangu's essay on technology received bronze honors, within Nitin Rangu close behind in 5th Place.

Daniel Farren took 4th in Career Preparation, with Ashley Mendenhall finishing in 7th Place.

Other competitiors included Daniel Bally in 5th Place (Flight Endurance), Olivia Lorenz in 7th Place and Emma Clark in 10th Place both in Desktop Publishing.

In the team events the Parliamentary Procedure Team of Uwa Ihionkhan, Ejehi Ihionkhan, Krisana Yuen, Stephanie Guck, Brady Miller, Levi Grant, Surya Donty, and Sam Pistone took first place, as did the Digital Video Production team of Rutvi Patel, Lucy Castillo, Chris Guck, and Daniele Farren.

Also finishing first in the Technology Bowl was Aaron Brown, Jason Randall, Neal Rangu, and Levi Grant.

Earning the silver medal was Biotechnology Design team Krisana Yuen, Soumya Donty, Uwa Ihionkhan, Samantha Taylor, Kathryn Roper, and Surya Donty. Also finishing in second place was the Manufacturing Prototype team of Trevor O'Connor, Krisana Yuen, Soumya Donty, Ben Taylor, Sam Pistone, and Nitin Rangu.

System Control Technology team members Conrad Deller, Jose Soto, and Daniel Bally finished in 6th place, while the Debating Technological Issues team of Brady Miller and Sam Pistone earned 7th place honors.

Naomi D'Arbell, Alex Lammers, Rutvi Patel, Anthony Castillo, and Chris Guck were ranked 8th in Children's Stories competition, as was the Fashion Design team of Emma Clark, Justin Melendez, Lucy Castillo, and Daniele Farren.

Finishing 9th in Debating Technological Issues was Justin Melendez and Surya Donty, with the Music Production team of Stephanie Guck, Kyra Turner, and Surya Donty ranked in the top 10.
Published Print